Audio Texture Radio Show – July 22, 2013

Escrito por el 25/07/2013

Nice warm summer vibes in this weeks show on the whole with a taste of Kasket‘s forthcoming EP of jazz beats on Apollo setting the tone, closely followed by some classic jazz from Henry Franklin which has been given a new lease of life and publicity courtesy of the new Snowdog, Black Jazz reissue mission. Simba & Milton Gulli then provided the spiritual African flavour with the «Outro» to their amazing tribute album to Tribe Called Quest which will be wowing the world at the end of the summer, look out for that on BBE Records. Milton was also instrumental in the following Jazz P tune as it is on his new record label Kongoloti which aims to showcase the best of African urban music and is off to a flying start.

The focus then shifted to UK soul talent and Fatima‘s nu-soul vibrations before DJ iZem gave Brazilian boy Lucas Santtana a decidedly forward looking twist. Just because music is distressed and not polished doesn’t mean it hasn’t got soul and feeling as Luke Wyatt and then Heat Wave more than ably demonstrated before Kelpe got his dub boogie on which led nicely into the soulful world of breaks and house of MonkeyRobot.

We couldn’t resist dropping another Dirg Gerner track from his now released EP because, well just because it’s a great project, say no more. Jono McCleery then continued in a similar vein as he takes his delicate folk vibes in a more electronic direction which bodes well for the coming album. The pace then hotted up with the cosmicjazzkrautrock vibes of Rocketnumbernine whose excellent debut album is now available on Smalltown Supersound. Food Pyramid then ended the show in fine Krautpop style..

Kasket – Warm Regards (Apollo promo)
Henry Franklin – The Skipper (Black Jazz/Snowdog)
Simba & Milton Gulli – Outro (BBE promo)
Jazz P – Sweet Melody (Kongoloti promo)
Fatima – Technology (Eglo promo)
Lucas Santtana – Hold Me In, DJ Izem remix (Mais Um Discos)
Luke Wyatt – Bertone Stratos (Emotional Response)
Heat Wave – Leave Me (Deep Tapes)
Kelpe – Monte Verita (DBA Dubs)
MonkeyRobot – YBMJ (Heavenly Sweetness)
Dirg Gerner – Mapa Bells (Eglo)
Jono McCleery – Ballade (Ninja Tune promo)
Rocketnumbernine – Black and Blue (Smalltown Supersound)
Food Pyramid – The High Life (Intercoastal Artists)

Audio Texture is a small, independent music consultancy specializing in putting extraordinary music in the ordinary world.

We love music even more than chocolate & we constantly research, listen to & painstakingly collate what we consider to be the best music in the world. So we thought it would be a nice idea to put out a weekly radio show to spread the word about some of our musical discoveries & support the world of quality, underground music.

We also write a blog giving people the heads up on the show, new releases & things of an interesting, musical nature.

Find out a bit more here:


Deja un comentario

Tu dirección de correo electrónico no será publicada.Los campos obligatorios están marcados con *

Este sitio usa Akismet para reducir el spam. Aprende cómo se procesan los datos de tus comentarios.

Canción actual